A brief history of IPL

It’s the time of the year, every cricket fan reaches out for their bean bags, chips & drinks, go into a state of frenzy as the most exciting cricketing contest, Indian Premier League (#IPL2019) is making a comeback. As the curtains are up, we know what to expect -we are all set to witness a complete package of explosive batting, inspired bowling and mind-blowing fielding just like we’ve been doing so for the past decade. Also, as usual, there will a share of controversies, drama, and parties. It’s also the time of year various offers and promotion hit the market – From restaurants to bars to hotels to coffee shops, offers and discounts galore. IPL is the most watched T20 League and the second paying league after EPL in the global sporting league.

At Deccan Rummy, we too have added a dash of excitement to the #IPL2019 with our Rummy Fantasy League. RFL is an exciting series of rummy tournaments that will be conducted on all match days. You can play this tournament with a low-buy-in of Rs. 10 and have a shot at the massive prize pool of Rs. 10 Lakhs.

All the users have to do is play these tournaments every day and you have a fantastic opportunity to double your winnings.

As we know what’s on the cards, in this post we shall see who won the IPL title thus far in these 11 seasons.  This article is a part of our series of articles on #IPL2019.

IPL Winners

1. IPL 2008


Shane Warne’s inspiring captaincy saw Rajasthan Royals unexpectedly overcome Tournament favorite Chennai Super Kings in a thrilling encounter. Yusuf Pathan secured the man of the match for his elegant 56 in the final and Shane Watson won the Man of the series.

2. IPL 2009

IPL 2009

IPL 2009 was conducted in South Africa as it coincided with the Indian election. Adam Gilchrist was in the form of his life with the bat and his spirited captaincy was the main reason Deccan Chargers came to the final despite a roller coaster ride. And again it proved to be main difference as Deccan Chargers overpowered Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the final and emerged as champion.

3. IPL 2010

IPL 2010

IPL 2010 ended CSK’s drought as they clinched the trophy in a one-sided contest versus Mumbai Indians at DY Patil stadium. Suresh Raina was brilliant throughout the series and deservedly won the man of the match for his quick 57.

4. IPL 2011

IPL 2011

It was not only back-to-back title for MSD, but the win came immediately after India’s successful world cup win. MSD cemented his legacy as the best captain of the league with this win over a spirited RCB, who were cruising along till then with some astounding performances from Gayle.

5. IPL 2012

IPL 2012

KKR won the trophy after a spirited chase that saw them overtaking a monumental 190 put up by CSK. It was a much needed for the Shahrukh Khan-owned franchise as much was expected from their star-studded side and they failed to deliver in the previous season. An unexpected assault from MS Bisla sealed the fate of CSK.

6. IPL 2013

Mukesh Ambani owned Mumbai franchise was facing a lot of heat for uninspiring performances thus far despite having a side filled with superstars and a stacked coaching department. IPL 2013 ended team Mumbai’s drought after they pummeled CSK in the final at Eden Gardens. Keiron Pollard delivered when it mattered the most and received man of the match for his efforts.

7. IPL 2014

IPL 2014

KKR won the league for the second time after a clinical performance in the final where they overcame a 199 posed by Kings XI Punjab. Despite a valiant effort from Saha who scored 115 that propelled the total to 199, a brutal 94 from Manish Pandey sealed the fate for KXIP.

8. IPL 2015

Mumbai clinched their second title after they clinically demolished CSK in a clear lopsided contest at Eden Gardens. After posting a daunting 202 in the board batting first, Mumbai restricted Chennai to 1616 thereby comfortably winning the contest by 41 runs

9. IPL 2016

IPL 2016

Sunrisers Hyderabad managed to clinch their maiden IPL title after managing to defeat by 8 runs in a closely fought high-scoring game. Batting first SRH registered a massive score of 208. Despite Gayle and Kohli cruising along with a 114 run stand for the first wicket, SRH tightened their screws and restricted RCB to 200

10. IPL 2017

Mumbai clinched their third title after beating Rising Pune SuperGiants in a low scoring thriller at Rajiv Gandhi stadium in Hyderabad. Mumbai team’s bowlers showed great character with the ball after their batsmen failed. Mitchell Johnson’s final over did the trick for Mumbai.

11. IPL 2018

IPL 2018

CSK made a glorious comeback after being suspended for 2 years by winning this edition thus becoming the second team after Mumbai Indians to win 3 IPL titles. Shane Watson’s blazing 117 off just 57 balls saw them overpower Sunrisers Hyderabad’s 178. For his heroic efforts, he walked away with the MoM award.

Let’s see which team is going to walk away with the honors in the upcoming IPL 2019

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

19 − five =